Last Minute Birthday Cards

Hi all.

I hope this post finds you well and I am so sorry for the erratic post schedule.

I spent this past weekend bowling for some friends for a joint birthday party. Now as a group, we don’t usually do gifts. We all met when we were poor college kids, so it was always grab bags or white elephants, and we never really grew out of that. So my decision to make birthday cards was a very last minute one, as in, the night before.

I started with a basic card from a card pack. This pack of 10 cards and envelopes for around 3 dollars at JoAnne Fabrics. I bought a pack of white cards because I could then turn them into anything. I plan on going back and getting more sizes. It was one of those impulse buys that really worked out. (Imagine the Christmas card possibilities!)

Since I had one card to make Jenn and one for Rick and I was making them both out of the same base, I tried to make them both as different as possible. That sort of worked out, except for the shape and the fact that both of them were covered in green paper. However, my argument is that green made sense as the background for Jenn’s card and green is Rick’s favorite color. So ha! See? There is a method to the madness in my head.

Anyway, Jenn’s card ended up covered in flowers.

She didn’t seem to mind though.

Now Rick, he’s some what of a movie buff. So, I made him a card with what I hope looks like a movie reel on it.

Does it look like a film reel? I hope so.

Thanks for reading.

Happy Birthday, friends.

~Laura McC

This entry was posted in Hour Crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last Minute Birthday Cards

  1. Jamie says:

    These are great!

    I go back and forth as to which I like more every time I see them.

    I automatically think it’s Rick’s because I’m less of a flowery person and I love gears, film reels, and gears that look like film reels…but then I look at Jenn’s again and secretly fall in love with the glittery flowers and the general composition of the card.

    So, I think I’ll just love them both and stop trying to choose. 🙂

  2. Laura McC says:

    I will make you your very own one day soon. And it will have both flowers and gears.

Leave a Reply

