Jamie’s Birthday Gift ‘n’ Tutorial

Hi all,

I finally (yes, finally) finished my friends birthday present. Took me almost a month, but we won’t talk about that, okay? Any who, I just heard from her and she has received them. Yay! This means I can finally share them with you all. More Yay!

Some minor back story, my friend is a librarian and a very avid reader. She’s the only person I know who leaves the bookstore with more books than I do. 🙂 So, I thought a set of book marks, some journals, and a box to hold them in would be perfect for her.

To start with the book marks:

This is the early version. This is a very simple bookmark to make. I stamped a butterfly at the top. Then, I punched some flowers in a darker paper (using my favorite Martha Stewart punch) and glued them to the bottom. Then, I glued that piece to a darker card stock, punched a hole in the top and threaded some yarn through the top. Easy as hopscotch. (I was going to say ‘easy as pie’ but pie is not easy. At all. So, I went with hopscotch, way easier). Later, I added glitter to all the flowers. You can see them in the pic at the bottom.

The neat thing about this bookmark is that I embroidered the lights. After stamping my super awesome gas street lamp image on to light card stock, I threaded a piece of yellow embroidery thread through the light bulb part and tied a knot. Make sure to cut off the excess. Then, you simply mount it to the dark card stock, punch a hole and you’re done.

Now I know this book mark looks a little uncool, but I promise you, it’s awesome. Here’s why:


Yup, that’s right. I has micro film inside of it. Jamie gave me rolls and rolls of old micro film scans of Business Magazine from the ’70’s. I cannot wait to use for more projects. Anyway, to create this book mark is a little more complicated. I cut 4 holes for the micro film inserts and taped them to back of the tan card stock. The tricky part is lining up the holes on the brown card stock as well. Once you get passed that, you just glue the two pieces of paper together, punch a hole at the top, and you’re done.

I just love this stamp. I think I’m going to create another one of these for myself. This is probably the easiest book mark of all. All you do is stamp the image onto the light card stock, then glue it to the dark card stock, punch, and you’re done.

This book mark has punches from a French atlas. What’s cooler than a French atlas? Nothing. Just mount interesting cut outs from your map onto dark card stock, glue those to your tan card stock and wha-lah.

Now, on to the box:

This box is very simple to make, but does require some time. I bought a plain old cardboard cigar style box from Micheal’s and covered it with clippings from a French Encyclopedia (probably the only thing that’s cooler than a French atlas). The French Encyclopedia was also given to my by Jamie. Her library was getting rid of them, so she bought me 4 volumes. I love it when friends feed my crafting addiction. Thanks Jamie!!

To make this box, I cut out bunches and bunches of interesting looking illustrations from the Encyclopedia’s and used clear varnish to adhere and seal them to the box. I would have used my Modge Podge, but it is still packed away some where and I cannot, for the life of me, find it. In fact, I can’t find any of my glues. Grr. Anyway, to adhere the clippings to the box, simply brush on a layer of Modge Podge (or clear varnish) and position the clipping. Then add a layer of Modge Podge on top. After it has dried for about a day, you can add a second coat. Me? I sealed my edges with some tape. Yeah, that’s how I roll.

Oh, and I also added a heart to the top as a little pull handle.

See the glitter?!?

Such a cute little set. I am so happy with the way it came out.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact me.

If you make anything resembling this post, please share it with me. I love seeing what you guys make.

Thanks for making it down to the bottom,

~Laura McC

P.S. Happy Birthday Jamie!! You are a very amazing friend and I love you.

 

 

This entry was posted in Day Long Crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jamie’s Birthday Gift ‘n’ Tutorial

  1. Jamie says:

    Thanks, love!

    I love this set so so so so very much! Kind of like I love you.

    Okay, mushiness over. Seriously, though. You’re wonderful and your gift was phenomenal! Thanks muchly. And thanks for the how-to.

    For the record, I think the film strip bookmark is my favorite, with the maps a close second.

    Also for the record, we were still in Florida this time last year. Sigh. I want to go back to paradise!

Leave a Reply

