Moving Day

“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it. “

~Ferris Bueller

That quote pretty much sums up my feelings about life right now. There are so many changes, so many new and exciting things. Some of the news isn’t mine to tell, so you’ll just have to be okay with hearing about our moving adventures. We decided to move on the day that it snowed, because you know: “It wouldn’t be fun if it was easy” (10 points to the person who guess what movie that’s from). Fortunately, we have a lot of amazing friends who came out to help. They are wonderful people who braved the cold and snow to help us.

If you look behind them, you can see the moving truck filled to the brim after picking up stuff and furniture at 3 (yes 3!) houses. Everyone laughed at me when I got the 26 foot truck. Ha! Who’s laughing now?

We had family help us too and they are just as wonderful (though they aren’t in a picture).

People were amazed in the amount of stuff we owned (little did they know that only about 15 % of all our packed boxes belonged to Brenden). It’s true, I’m a pack rat. I just can’t throw a good thing away. But, I did promise to get rid of 45% of my stuff. Yeah, we’ll see how that goes.

Let’s take a look at just how much stuff I have to go through, shall we?

Master Bedroom

Living Room

Dining Room

Studio

Let’s not even talk about the kitchen or bathrooms, k? K.

 

Thanks for reading and enjoy your week,

~Laura McC

This entry was posted in House Work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Moving Day

  1. Jamie says:

    LOVE!

    I can’t wait to come see it all!

    Also, if operation wisdom teeth goes well, maybe I’ll be able to make a trip at the end of Spring Break.

  2. Liz says:

    Love the house!

    Also, from experience–shedding stuff works best if you don’t go through the effort of moving it to the new house. Once it’s moved, let’s face it…it gets to stay. 😉

    • Thanks Liz!!

      I’ve been doing pretty good shedding stuff. If it doesn’t fit into at least two categories, it goes. Categories like: is it useful? is it a raw material? is it historic? is it beautiful? is it sentimental? and can someone else use it more than me? If it doesn’t fit, it goes. I’ve really only gone through one box of studio stuff and got rid of just under half, so I’m doing really good. Let’s hope I can keep it up.

      I hope you’ll come to visit once we’re done unpacking (God knows when that will be!).

      ~Laura McC

  3. Thank you.

    Good luck with the teeth.

    And YAY!!

Leave a Reply

