House Project Days 1 & 2

Day 1

Trips to Home Depot: 1

Trips to Ace Hardware: 0

Hours Worked: 8

Projects Completed: 0

Lunch: Pizza

Day 2

Trips to Home Depot: 2 (two different locations)

Trips to Ace Hardware: 3

Hours Worked:  8

Projects Completed: 0

Lunch: Panera Bread

Hello everyone,

Sorry to disappoint you, but this post isn’t going to be about a crafty project. It’s going to be an introduction to the new project that I fear will take over my life (and I secretly hope it does). My husband and I got our own first place together and are so stoked about it. However, the house does need some love and A LOT of work. This weekend was our first real attempt at making our mark on it. We have spent the entire weekend cleaning, sanding, priming, and painting. We decided to start small and focus on the down stairs living room (because it was the worst room in the house) and our bedroom (also very bad).

 

Let’s start with the downstairs living room:

This is the before. (Please disregard the beginning of patch work and focus on the star stencils.) Awful isn’t it? Yeah, not really something we could live with for longer than 3 seconds.

 

Doesn’t my husband look so happy to be painting ceilings?

My mom changing light bulbs!

 

Now for the bedroom:

My husband is taking a Twitter break after all the spackling was done.

So we put plastic down over the vent and then the heat kicked on. Oopps. Accidents can be fun. 🙂

That is where we left off. We primed and painted the downstairs living room. And we primed our bedroom. It has been A LOT of work, but it has also been a lot of fun!

On the books for next weekend: finish our bedroom and paint the living/dining room.

 

Thanks for reading,

~Laura McC

P.S. I have been making things, but they are for someone who is very important to me and has a birthday coming up and she reads this blog, so I wouldn’t want to spoil it.

This entry was posted in House Work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to House Project Days 1 & 2

  1. Jamie says:

    Ha. Ha ha. Hahahahaha. I’m sitting at the reference desk trying not to completely lose it as I look at those star patterns. I can’t imagine why you had to paint so quickly. 🙂

    Can’t wait to see it! What colors are rooms turning?

    • Hahaha!! Thanks Jamie! The “I’m pretending to be the starry sky blue” room will soon be “Antique White” thanks to “Awful and completely delicious red wine” to Martha Stewart’s “Dolphin”. I know they sound weird, but they will be gorgeous. Promise. I can’t wait for you to see it.

      ~Laura McC

  2. Brenden says:

    I like that you’re documenting all this, it’ll be cool to see our progress again when we get this all finished.

Leave a Reply

