Bead Journal Project – January 2011

Today I wanted to share with you my Bead Journal Project. In November 2010, I stumbled across the Bead Journal Project website. ( I think it was thanks to a Twitter RT, but I can’t remember. However or whoever it was, I’m great full!)

 

BJP is a group of people who all pledge to create one beaded project a month.

 

The rules are very simple and easy going. You have to make one beaded project a month and share it with posts to the BJP journal. Outside of those two commitments, you can make anything. Past participants have done one project per quarter or season. You can also make the size and subject anything you want!

 

My theme was beaded flowers, on a painted mini canvas. I knew I could not commit to a fully beaded scene like some of the previous participants, so I went with beading as an accent to the full image. I was originally going to paint a flower (maybe the flower of each month), but then I found a stash of flowery fabric that I forgot I had (that happens a-lot), I knew I had to use it. So my final theme/process is beading a different flower fabric each month and then wrapping around it around a mini canvas.

 

I haven’t quite figured out how to insert a ribbon through the wood frame to make it hang. Right now, I’m just having fun making them.

 

Thanks for reading!

 

~Laura McC

This entry was posted in Bead Journal Project. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Bead Journal Project – January 2011

  1. Great idea to bead the flowered fabric. I have thought about doing that once or twice. Its nice on the canvas and should give you a lot of options using your pages. Glad you joined the BJP.

  2. Whytefeather says:

    I really like your idea for the project this year!! Those will make wonderful wall art for you to display… Kudos!
    Lovely beaded flower 🙂

  3. Barbara says:

    Hi Laura, so good to meet you, glad you have joined the rest of us in BJP! I love your Jan. flower, and am sure your finished project will be beautiful. I didn’t see anywhere, unless I missed it, what size is this Jan. piece? It’s beautiful, and so nice to see color in the middle of January!

    • It’s lovely to meet you too! I am so delighted to be a part of BJP! You’re right, I didn’t post the size of the canvas, completely slipped my mind. It’s about 2in x 4in. Thanks for stopping by!!

      ~Laura McC

  4. Like minds!

    I too am doing a flower theme for the BJP but in a different way. This is so colorful and lovely. I love the idea of the small mini canvas. I have done a few of those and love the way they are so easy to embroider on due to the firm tension!

    • I actually embroider the fabric using a very small embroidery hoop. Very, very small. 🙂 Then, I glue the fabric onto the canvas. Hot glue can do anything!!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      ~Laura McC

  5. Cyndi L says:

    Using beading as an accent is the perfect solution to “not enough time” syndrome! Love it 🙂

  6. Your beaded flower looks beautiful! I can’t wait to see next month’s. I am still working on mine – hopefully I will have it done by this weekend. I attach ribbin to my wooden canvases by glueing the ribbon in a loop to the back of the canvas. Then I take some decorative paper, that coordinates with whatever I have on the front, and glue the paper to the back of the canvas frame. This seems to work really well for me.

    • Thank you so much for stopping by!! I bet you’ll get yours done. I can’t wait to see it. Also, thanks for the idea of how to finish off my canvas. That’s much simpler than the idea I came up with. I was thinking of drilling holes in the top and feeding some ribbon through, but I don’t have a drill. So, that makes me kind of difficult.

      ~Laura McC

  7. Marcy Antle says:

    Gorgeous, I love it!
    Marcy

  8. Marty S says:

    This is a wonderful idea, and your first piece is lovely.
    Marty S
    Crackpot Beader

  9. Jamie says:

    This. Is. Awesome.

    I can’t wait to see the whole series!

Leave a Reply

