Lynn’s Tree

So now that my camera works (yay!) I can finally catch up on some completed projects!

The first that I wanted to share is a paper tree that I created for my sister-in-law, Lynn, for Christmas!

Isn’t it precious? I just love it. I also have to give mad props to Lolly Chops for her post here. When I saw that post and a picture of that tree, I knew I had to find a way to recreate it with out a Cricut machine. Enter the Martha Stewart Leaf Punch!!

Then, I just punched 2 12″x12″ pages worth of leaves in a green solid and green patterned paper and about half of a 12″ x 12″ piece of paper for the red. The solid green and red papers are from Core’dinations. The patterned green paper is from Basic Grey’s Origins collection in Seaweed Wrap.

Once I punched all the leaves, and there were a lot of leaves, I used a wider diameter pencil to shape the leaves so that they weren’t flat. I hop you can see how they looked in the following photo.

After that, I started gluing. This step took the longest……about a week. Yeah, that’s right a week. I would come home and worked on it while watching Conan. An hour every night isn’t that bad, especially when the results are so pretty. I dipped the longer tip of the leaf into glue and applied it to a cardboard cone that I bought at Michael’s. Thankfully, I bought the smaller cone. 🙂 I applied the leaves in rows starting from the bottom alternating between solid green and patterned green papers. I popped in some red leaves for flavor. One or two red leaves per row. It’s important to make sure the next row you add covers up the top of the previous row.

Once I got to the top, I painted it red, then I glued the last few leaves. Lets admire how the finished product looks again. Shall we? Yes, we shall.

Thanks for reading!

~ Laura McC

This entry was posted in Christmas Crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lynn’s Tree

  1. LollyChops says:

    This is UTTERLY fabulous!!! I am over the top excited to see what you created! I hope that Lynn adored it as much as I would have!!!!

    Thanks so much for sharing what you made with me! I really get a kick out of stuff like this!

    I hope you have a wonderful week!

    HUGS!
    Lolly

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting Lolly! And thanks for the inspiration!!

      Lynn did adore it, though I dropped the ball and forgot to take a picture of her opening it. Laura fail.

      I hope you have a great week too!!

      ~Laura McC

  2. Jamie says:

    This is fabulous! Thanks for sharing.

    I’m wondering if this process could be tweaked to make different kinds of trees? Yes, I’m that big of a tree nerd that I would TOTALLY make/have/display a tree for every season. I just don’t know what the bases would be for non-pine trees…

    Can’t you see it, though? Right now, a similar tree made with mostly greens and whites for a snow-covered pine tree. In the spring, a starting-to-bud tree. Etc.

    Hmmm…….look what you’ve done. 🙂

    • Uh oh…..Now you have open the flood gates for me!! I think a non-pine version would be a FANTASTIC challenge!! Now, I am going to spend a good chunk of my time trying to figure out how to make a non-pine version. I think I could do it…..we’ll see.

      I love the idea of a snow covered pine!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      ~Laura McC

  3. Jesse says:

    Laura, that’s super cute! I need to file this away for next year. Keep up the blogging. 🙂

Leave a Reply

